best coding techniques

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

best coding techniques

Ok. I know these are skills you gain with experience because I can see my code is more organised and cleaner than it was a year ago when I started.
    I however see better code everyday and wish to get better.
    Is there some kind of document with guidelines? For those of us who are self taught, I think this would be a great asset.
    There is only so much you can learn from reading code.
    Thanks.
    Perfection comes at a cost

I accept liberty!

try ebooks. There is lotsa ebooks online

Comment

Originally posted by frostymarvelous View Post
      Ok. I know these are skills you gain with experience because I can see my code is more organised and cleaner than it was a year ago when I started.
      I however see better code everyday and wish to get better.
      Is there some kind of document with guidelines? For those of us who are self taught, I think this would be a great asset.
      There is only so much you can learn from reading code.
      Thanks.
      check link in my signature...
      you might find some usefull ebook...
      It's better to keep your mouth shut and give the impression that you're stupid, than to open it and remove all doubt.
      ⓣⓗⓔ ⓠⓤⓘⓔⓣⓔⓡ ⓨⓞⓤ ⓑⓔ©ⓞⓜⓔ, ⓣⓗⓔ ⓜⓞⓡⓔ ⓨⓞⓤ ⓐⓡⓔ ⓐⓑⓛⓔ ⓣⓞ ⓗⓔⓐⓡ !
      ιη тнєσяу, тнє ρяα¢тι¢є ιѕ α яєѕυℓт σƒ тнє тнєσяу, вυт ιη ρяα¢тι¢є ιѕ тнє σρρσѕιтє.
      キノgんイノ刀g 4 ア乇ムc乇 ノ丂 レノズ乇 キucズノ刀g 4 √ノ尺gノ刀ノイリ!

Comment

Thanks. Lemme check.

Khan. I know. What I need is a title or something. There's a lot of junk out there.

I accept liberty!

Comment

To write cleaner codes i use tabs for indentation not spaces.
          I do
          if( ! $arg === TRUE)
          {
          {TAB HERE}echo $arg;
          }

makes it easy to find missing closing braces. I use caps for php constants like:
          AND, NULL, FALSE, TRUE, OR etc. I also make sure that i do stuff like:

function ego($ego)
          {